Football News

Gareth Southgate offered a straightforward answer when questioned about Ben White’s absence from England’s initial Euro 2024 squad.

Gareth Southgate’s straightforward reaction came when questioned about Ben White’s absence from England’s preliminary Euro 2024 squad. White, despite his impressive season with Arsenal, was not included in the 33-man squad unveiled by Southgate ahead of England’s friendly matches against Iceland and Bosnia and Herzegovina, leading up to the Euro 2024 in Germany.

Southgate’s selection decisions saw experienced players like Jordan Henderson, Marcus Rashford, and Eric Dier also left out. When queried about White’s omission, Southgate tersely replied that as far as he knew, White was unavailable for selection.

The Arsenal defender hasn’t featured in an England squad since the 2022 World Cup. Southgate had previously mentioned in March that White had opted out of the friendlies against Brazil and Belgium. The manager hinted then that White could potentially make a return to the squad but only if he initiated the conversation.

With the final 26-man squad for the Euros set to be revealed on June 8, White’s chances seem slim. England’s upcoming fixtures against Iceland and Bosnia and Herzegovina will be crucial before their Euro campaign kicks off against Serbia on June 16, followed by matches against Denmark and Slovenia.

Here is the full provisional England Euro 2024 squad:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), James Trafford (Burnley)

Defenders: Kyle Walker, John Stones (both Manchester City), Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw (both Manchester United), Jarell Quansah, Joe Gomez, Trent Alexander-Arnold (all Liverpool), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Jack Grealish, Phil Foden (both Manchester City), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Eberechi Eze, Adam Wharton (both Crystal Palace), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), James Maddison (Tottenham)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button